Sleepless Nights and Royal Possums…

OK, so I had the IV IG treatment yesterday. I’m not sure if it’s the treatment or the fact that they gave me a 125 mg shot of corticosteroid before the drip, but for the first time I can remember in many years, I had trouble getting to sleep, and I’m completely wired now at 2:40 in the morning. If I’m awake at 4:30, I think I’ll take the dogs out to walk off the Mickey D’s quarter pounder combo I had on the way home and the Braum’s small chocolate ice cream mix with M & M’s I had a little later. Oh, corticosteroids, must we have this love/hate relationship. You make me dance around and sing I feel good! like James Brown but you sure know how to make me pack on the pounds. Thus, I will be eating nothing but healthy food the rest of the week. Yes, fruit and yogurt for lunch every day for now. My pants will all be tight the rest of this week but I refuse to go out and buy a larger size. Not going to happen. No way. Nuh huh.

Besides not feeling exhausted, I’m not all achy and sore. My joints and muscles are much less achy than usual. I’m still a little achy but not much which is a HUGE improvement! One of my friends told me I shouldn’t feel bad about getting this treatment. I’ve been praying to go into remission for years, and maybe this is his way of  helping me, so I guess I’ll accept it and try to do good things with the energy. In fact, if I feel this good tomorrow evening, I’ll go help clean up the building my church is going to use for a free medical clinic for the poor they’re opening soon. Then maybe I’ll start that grant writing later this week. There’s absolutely no excuse for not doing it if I’m feeling this energized!

So as I sit at the computer at nearly 3:00 am, I’m so glad I don’t have to watch many of the infomercials and religious testimonials on TV right now. (Did you know if you give money to certain TV churches and even use this one church’s miracle water, you too will be blessed with lots of money? *rolling eyes*) Luckily, I found a repeat of the Weather Channel Storm Stories episode about the Galveston hurricane of 1900. Reader, I feel the need to make a confession here. My name is Suzanne, and I am a Weather Channel junkie. I’m only 37 (therefore, not old yet), but I could watch the Weather Channel ALL DAY LONG. I live nowhere near the east coast (I live in north Texas), and yet for the last week I’ve been watching all the coverage of Hurricane Irene every chance I get. The power of the weather never ceases to amaze me. I just wish they could bring some of that water in Vermont here, so we could put it on the fires west of here around Possum Kingdom Lake. BTW, that’s got to be my favorite lake name of all time! When I hear its name, I always imagine a possum king and queen with crowns and sceptres overseeing their loyal subjects gathered together in a persimmon tree. *grin* Do you know of any other interesting lake names? If so, please comment and let me know them. Don’t forget to say where the lake is mentioned. In fact, you could mention any humorously named body of water. Creek names tend to be interesting, too.

All right, dear reader, I think my time would probably be better spent lying in bed attempting to sleep than on here writing about royal possums. Good night! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

