Solitude

I just watched a twenty-minute videotaped speech someone posted on Facebook about the power of introversion. This is a topic that interests me because I happen to be an introvert and have been reading up on it. I used to feel like people thought I was shy or nerdy because I like to have a lot of alone time and love to read. I also don’t like loud, rowdy places or people and much prefer the company of a few close friends than a large group of people. That’s why the article I recently read and the video I watched made me feel so good. I’m not alone in my desire to be alone!

That being said, solitude can be a double-edged sword. Solitude can afford one an opportunity for imaginative thinking, creative work, and introspection. However, if things aren’t going so well, a person can wind up wallowing in self-pity and planning for the worst.

I’ve been in that place a couple of times when I’m having a bad day with the arthritis of Lupus and muscle aches of Dermatomyositis. I just want to lie down and have a big pity party for myself. Instead of doing this lately,  I’m trying to avoid this while still being able to enjoy solitude. I’ve been turning to more creative pursuits such as working in my flower beds, making a loaf of bread, or something else where it’s OK to think and reflect but not blot out or escape my feelings as I would by watching TV or even reading.

Of course, it’s OK to escape to the TV, a movie, or book at times or call up a friend or two to hang out. It’s important to have balance. And who knows…maybe it’s OK for just a bit here and there to feel sorry for oneself…to grieve the loss of some part of you that you’ll never regain such as one’s flexibility or the ability to stay up late and not feel horrible the next day. Someone once told me that when they lost a spouse, they told themselves they could grieve for so long each night. They would allow themselves a good cry for ten minutes and then they had to move on to something else. I’m not sure if one should be so regimented, but surely, that’s healthier than wallowing around in sorrow for hours and days at a time.

As I was writing the last paragraph, I happened to think of Ecclesiastes 3:1, so I just found a cool YouTube video someone made with music from the Byrds song “Turn, Turn, Turn”. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in health and wellbeing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

