The Roller Coaster

Well, I’m definitely feeling better now that I’m on an elevated amount of  prednisone (except for already gaining three pounds and feeling a bit moody that is). I’ve even cut myself down to 20mg. This weekend, I did some baking, cleaning out of flower beds, taking fall decorations down from the attic, getting things organized for National Night Out which is tomorrow, etc. I went for walks and bike rides and felt a bit like my old self. I’m still not totally flexible, and my muscles are a little sore tonight, but compared to how I was last Tuesday, I’m doing MUCH better. 

It’s amazing how, when you’re feeling well, your whole demeanor can change. You see yourself doing things in the future that you enjoy, you make plans, and feel that life will go on. Conversely, when you exhausted, nauseated, achy, and sore, it’s hard to set goals for the future and picture yourself enjoying life. At first, I was a bit upset that my rheumatologist wanted me to go up to 30 mg of prednisone especially since she had just told me that my last bone density test showed I’ve developed Osteopenia. However, if this is what it takes to get me back on track, and she’s planning to taper me down when I go back on the 10th, then perhaps it’s for the best. I’ve just got to realize that sometimes, it’s necessary to jump start my recover and find that balance between what I can’t tolerate and overdoing it with the medication. At the same time, I’m going to have avoid overdoing the activity, go to bed at a decent time, and try to eat healthier. Easier said than done!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

