Job Losses and Other Diversions

Well, my husband lost his job…one month shy of being at the company for twenty years. Now I get to support us on a school librarian’s salary, and it looks like we’re going to barely scrape by from month to month until he finds another job, and that’s if we don’t go to the doctor, take the dogs to the vet, get hair cuts and oil changes, or buy any clothing whatsoever. Anyone out there looking for an organic chemist with 19 years experience in the pharmaceutical field?

I’m actually in a good place mentally and emotionally, though. I’ve been kind of panicky, I admit it. However, I heard someone speak today at the Texas Library Association conference in Fort Worth who put my mind at ease. It was J. R. Martinez who won season 13 of Dancing with the Stars, appeared on All My Children for three years, and now has a radio show. When he was 19 (ten years ago), the Army vehicle he was driving in Iraq hit a mine and he was engulfed in flames which burned over a third of his body. He said that despite his anger and desperation, he was still able to “adapt and overcome”. I won’t record his whole speech. If you want to be inspired as I was, you’ll have to hear him speak or read his new book, Full of Heart: My Story of Survival, Strength, and Spirit.

Listening to J. R. Martinez has given me hope that everything will be OK as long as my husband and I believe we can “adapt and overcome” and are determined to make the best of the situation. Although this is a difficult time for us, I know that things will improve at some point (hopefully without becoming worse first), and we will have learned valuable lessons from this. At the same time, we are going to pray fervently and put our trust in God. We will pray that God will help us to make good choices and ultimately do what is best for us. Despite our situation, I still find myself speaking the words of Mary, the mother of our Jesus, when she said, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior.” (Luke 1:46-55). 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

