Pleurisy sucks

After spending a nice week visiting with family in Tennessee, I’ve developed pleurisy again. For those of you who don’t know what that is, your lungs have two layers surrounding them and a space between them. When those two linings (pleura) become inflamed, they rub on each other like sandpaper and get all irritated. Then you have pleurisy. When I had this last January, I could only breathe in about halfway, and I had some pain. This time, I can breathe in a bit more, but it feels like there’s a dull knife stuck in my chest just to the right of my sternum. I think this probably resulted from my laughing at my sister’s joke Thursday evening and, consequently, inhaling a good bit of hot tea. I coughed a lot trying to get up all of the tea and soon, my chest started to feel sore.

The soreness turned into pain on the way home from Tennessee to Texas (a nine hour trip), so I ended up taking 20 mgs. of prednisone instead of the usual 5 mg. It probably didn’t help that I was driving toward the sun all afternoon and was accompanied by my 84-year-old mother who needs a lot of assistance due to her lack of sight and severe osteoarthritis. I got pretty tired of taking out her walker and loading it back into the car every couple of hours on the way home.

Anyway, I took 40 mgs. of prednisone today and tried to rest all day. I assumed I would be feeling great by this evening, but that is SO not the case. My chest still hurts, and I’ll probably have difficulty sleeping due to the prednisone, but I’m going to try anyway, so if you read this anytime soon, please say a prayer for me. Hopefully, I’ll feel much better tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

