About Face

After watching what I eat for several weeks and losing four pounds, I felt like I had more energy. I felt hopeful that I might go into remission soon. All that changed Saturday when I spent too long in the sun hanging out at the park and planting some flowers in my front flowerbed (See picture below). Apparently, I exposed myself to a superfluous amount of ultraviolet light and caused myself a flare. I woke up terribly achy on Sunday and developed either edema or inflammation on the right side of my face along with a dry twitchy eye. Needless to say, I’m feeling rather bummed. Apparently, eating well doesn’t really make that much difference to my health. It’s all (or mostly) about the sun.

I went to see my rheumatologist today who could see the swelling and had me push and pull on her to determine my strength. She feels I’m getting weaker and ordered some blood work including a muscle enzyme test as usual. She wanted me start on IV IG treatments again or start Rituximab, but I told her that’s out of the question since my husband is out of work. It’s simply too expensive. She said that we might try a low does of Cyclosporin and see if it affects my gut like Methotrexate, Cellcept, and Imuran did, but she wants to run the blood tests first. In the meantime, I’m to stay on an elevated dose of prednisone to get my inflammation under control. So much for trying to lose weight!

I’m feeling rather discouraged right now. I’m going to get a good night’s rest and hope I feel better tomorrow.

Petunias

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

