Setback

Since around the beginning of July, I’ve been experiencing some really bad pain in my upper right thigh in front. Some days it’s just sore or nonexistent, but some days, like today, it’s excruciating. I’ll just suddenly feel this searing pain ripping through my thigh near the top of my leg. Putting my right leg back as though I’m going into the warrior pose seems to take the edge off the pain, but you should see the looks I get in public when I suddenly stop walking and start doing yoga! 🙂

I went to my general practitioner’s office a couple weeks ago about the pain, and the doctor did an x-ray to see if my hip might be fractured which may affect a nerve. (Even though I’m only 39, I’ve been on prednisone for 16 years which can weaken bones.) The good news is that my hip looks fine. The bad news is that she really couldn’t say what’s going on, so she prescribed Tramadol and 40 mg of prednisone. I got the pain under control in  three or four days, but it’s been getting worse again this week, and today, I awakened to a serious jolt of pain, so I’m putting back on prednisone and Tramadol. Additionally, as I type this, I’m experiencing the cool relief provided by a bag of frozen broccoli florets on my thigh. 

The irony in this whole situation is that I’ve lost five pounds this summer by walking and bike riding most days which probably exacerbated my muscle or nerve pain. Now that I’m on 40 mg. of prednisone, I’m afraid I’ll probably gain the five pounds back. I’m going to continue to eat healthier foods, though, which will, hopefully, minimize the weight gain. 

I think it’s important to look at the positives though. In fact, I read that people who list three things they are grateful for each day tend to be happier overall. So…here goes: my husband got a full-time chemistry job in Dallas this month which means that we can afford decent insurance coverage again! My mom is happy at her new retirement home and is making friends, so our relationship has improved dramatically. In fact, my husband and I went to visit her last month, and we enjoyed our time with her. I have two amazing dogs to keep me company while I’m at home all summer. (See picture below.) 

2014-07-24 10.16.49

 

I’ve been using a prayer book by Kenneth Boa called Face to Face: Praying the Scriptures for Intimate Worship vol. 1 lately, and I took heart in one of the bible verses today, so I’m including it below for anyone else out there who may find comfort in it. 

“I do not lose heart; even though my outward self is perishing, yet my inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light affliction, which is momentary, is working for me a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory. So I do not look at the things that are seen but at the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are temporary, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

2 Corinthians 4: 16-18

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

