Does God exist?

When I was in my early twenties, I became an atheist for a while and then soon decided that I was agnostic. There were just too many things I couldn’t account for in this world to be an atheist. For instance, I believed someone, some being or some phenomena must be behind the creation of the universe. How could there just be nothing followed by a huge explosion that gave birth to the universe and all that’s in it. I wandered around the proverbial desert, struggling with the big questions about life in the universe and my life as well.

When my life seemed hopeless and everything seemed to be falling apart, I finally realized that I desperately needed God to exist, and I called on him for help…in case he existed. To my surprise, he responded. I prayed to God that he would forgive me for my doubt in him and that he would lift my burdens from me. Things improved a great deal for me. I’d recently had two car wrecks, was not living in a good area, discovered my boyfriend had gotten another woman pregnant, and I taught in a school which was not safe. In the next year, I would move to a much better area, take a job in a much better school, and enter into a long term relationship (not one that would end in marriage, but I learned a lot, and it was good while it lasted). I’ve learned to trust in God and to pray fervently, and he will respond. He may not always respond in the way we would like, but he does respond. You just have to be willing to listen.

And as I’ve prayed for God to reveal himself to me, so that my faith may be strengthened, he has answered. In this blog, I’ve talked about the dreams I’ve had of loved ones after they’ve passed, but I see proof of God in my waking life as well. Psalm 19:1 states, “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.” This is most assuredly true. Physicists, even those who are atheists, claim that in the beginning, something came from nothing and that from darkness, there was light. They call this the Big Bang Theory, but it certainly sounds like the opening of the book of Genesis. And look at Earth itself. It has the perfect size, atmosphere, and distance from the sun to support life. The moon is at a perfect distance to control the tides without wreaking havoc on our planet. The human body itself is a miracle when you consider its complexity. A great article on this topic can be found at http://www.everystudent.com/features/isthere.html 

You can choose to believe or not to believe in God since God gave you the gift of free will. You can even support the church of the flying spaghetti monster which was established to mock religion, but instead, I hope you’ll consider praying to God that He will reveal Himself to you in some way or that you will feel His presence in your life. Then be still and listen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

