Second Opinion

I did it…I went to another doctor, not a Rheumatologist this time, just a primary care physician. She looked at the sore on my outer ear and said I have Actinic Keratosis which means precancerous cells, so she froze it. It stung a bit at the time, but it’s already feeling better. My Rheumatologist had said it was probably due to the Dermatomyositis and prescribed a cortizone cream that did nothing. Neosporin didn’t help either. Hopefully, I’ll be able to lie on it soon again. The primary care doctor also drew blood to see if she can figure out why I’ve been so exhausted, so hopefully, I’ll have an answer for that question as well.

In other news, I’ve been reading the book The Good and Beautiful Life by James Bryan Smith for a class I attend on Wednesday nights at church. The last chapter we read focused on not judging others or trying to “fix” people. As a result, I decided to write a letter to the person who most recently upset me. Even though I still feel like she was wrong and extremely rude to me, I didn’t point that out. Instead, I apologized for our misunderstanding and how I handled the situation…by becoming defensive which only made things worse. I delivered the letter to her a couple days ago through an intermediary but haven’t heard from her. Whether I ever hear from her or not, I feel a sense of peace about the situation. I’m just going to keep praying that she finds some peace as well.

So now I’m wondering if I should contact an old friend to whom I gave some unsolicited advise a few years ago which caused her to ignore my phone calls and emails thereafter. I thought I was helping, but now I realize that when you try to fix someone or their situation, they may feel like you’re passing judgement on them which (let’s face it), you are. I don’t know why I didn’t realize this before. It seems like common sense now. I’m forty-years-old, and it seems I still have a lot to learn!

This entry was posted in health and wellbeing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

