Living Like We’re Renegades

I’m feeling pretty inspired these days. Part of this stems from my health being somewhat better lately. I’ve still got muscle cramps and arthritis, but they’re not too bad at the moment. I’ve been trying to get plenty of rest and avoid stress (deciding not to pursue a grant has helped). My legs have been itching like crazy, but I’ve started using a steroid cream, albeit sparingly, and it’s helping somewhat.

I’ve also been feeling inspired by my husband who has decided to study for the PCAT in an attempt to get into pharmacy school. It’s not easy to realize that you need to change careers, especially at the age of 49. If he gets in, he’ll be in school for four years, and he’ll either have to take money from his retirement or get student loans, but organic chemists aren’t in high demand in Texas, and we don’t want to move to California or the northeast where the cost of living is high, and we don’t know anybody.  I admire him for making such a huge decision at this time in his life. It’s the brave thing to do.

So what am I doing while he’s studying? I’m finally writing a book. It’s National Novel Writing Month (otherwise known as NaNoWriMo), and I’ve decided that it’s time to bite the bullet and write a book as I’ve dreamed of doing since I was a teenager. I’m only on page 11, but I’ve got a strong main character and a decent plot mapped out though it’s starting to shift from realistic fiction to Christian fiction, and I need to go back and add some more detail, so I’m showing more than telling.

We’ve been talking in my Wednesday night class  at church about establishing margins in our lives. This could be in terms of creating free time by cutting out wasteful activities such as watching TV or freeing up money to help others by making one or more sacrifices. The analogy in the book we’re reading is that of a piece of paper that’s filled with writing from the left edge of the page across to the right edge of the page and from the very top to the very bottom. There’s no margin to give your eyes a break, and it can cause you to be overwhelmed. It’s the same with life. If you leave no room to breathe, to rest, or to enjoy life, you end up overwhelmed and exhausted.  I was able to identify greatly with this part of the book and I’m sure a lot of other Americans could as well.

Although I’m not as far along in my novel writing as I should be (you’re supposed to write a whole novel in a month, and I’m only on page 11), I’m satisfied with the progress I’ve made thus far. I still need time to walk the dogs, converse with my husband, and hang out with friends, including running (or walking more like it) with some of them in a 5K next Saturday in order to benefit a local clinic for those with little or no health insurance. Am I worried that I may not finish the run/walk? Not really. Am I worried I won’t finish my book? Not really. Even if I don’t finish, I will have given it my best shot. I’ve decided that I’m too old and life is too short to live with regrets.

Are you looking for inspiration? Try this video:

This entry was posted in health and wellbeing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

