‘Tis the Season

Two days to Christmas, and I feel great. I’m caught up on rest, and my latest flare seems to be over. My test results came back and although my sed rate was at 38 which is more than twice what it should’ve been, my creatine kinase level was normal. I had some other high and low scores (white blood cell count, neutrophil#, and carbon dioxide were a little high while alkaline phosphate level and anion gap were a little low), but they were barely out of range, so I’m not going to worry about them, especially since my doctor didn’t make any notes on the results and I’m feeling really good right now. If my rheumatologist isn’t going to worry, I’m not going to either. I  feel so good that I’ve been able to go for short walks and bike rides the last three days due to the unusually warm weather. I’ve also been doing some baking while listening to Christmas music. I love this time of year!

Last Christmas was a time of great sadness due to a death in the family, and I’m determined to make sure this Christmas is filled with joy and laughter. I’ve got everything decorated, lots of sweets covering the dining room table, and movies and games sitting out. For the first time since we got married, my husband and I will be at our own house and will be able to worship in our own church this Christmas Eve. More importantly, we’ll be joined by family.  I’ve been praying so hard for these family members to be filled with the holy spirit and feel God’s presence in their lives, so that they might come to believe in Him. They don’t know this of course since I’m not into evangelism. Therefore, I was elated when I invited them to go with church with us, and they said they would go.

Despite the hardships we encountered this year, we truly are blessed in so many ways. In fact, I’ve decided that in 2016, we’re going to keep a jar in a prominent place, and at least once a week, my husband and I will each fill out a slip of paper with some sort of blessing that we’ve experienced and put it into the jar. At the end of the year, we’ll open the jar and read through them. It’s so easy to forget the good and focus only on the bad. Hopefully, this will help us to be more grateful for what we have.

I wish you a very merry Christmas and happy new year!

blessing jar

Jar designed and created by Bella Blvd:  http://bellablvd.typepad.com/bella_blvd/page/2/

 

This entry was posted in health and wellbeing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

