Happy New Year?

Well, I can’t say that 2016 was the best year. My job is getting harder, my husband hasn’t had a pay check since last January, Carrie Fisher passed away, and now my 87-year-old mother is living with me again because she had a heart attack and can’t live on her own.

That being said, there are many things to be thankful for. At the beginning of this year, I blogged about my blessing jar. I never had one before, but after reading that counting your blessings is good for your well-being, I decided to start one, which you can see is now filled with slips of paper on which I wrote things I’m thankful for.

blessings

I did not put in a slip of paper each week but I averaged about one every other week, and I just experienced some good feelings by reading them all. Things I was grateful for this year ranged from the minuscule…hearing my dog peacefully snoring next to me to major events such as my sister becoming cancer free after her surgery and my health improving significantly after reducing my gluten intake. We also went to the beach for a couple of days which was both fun and relaxing.

I know that I will need to keep reflecting on the good over the coming year. My mother has been left weak from her surgery and old age in general. I’m having to help her get back and forth to the restroom, help her shower, dress her, and wheel her around in a wheel chair. Because she’s mostly blind, I have to measure her blood sugar level, read her mail, tell her what’s going on if she hears something. I really don’t know how she managed to live in an independent living senior apartment complex for as long as she did. Because my husband isn’t working now, he’ll be able to help her somewhat while I’m at at work.

I have to admit that I’m a bit confused right now. Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.” (Mt. 11:28-30)

What does this look like when you have a life like mine? It’s a question that I will be grappling with this year as I pray for better times. Dear reader, I hope you have a happy, healthy, and prosperous new year, and if you happen to remember, please pray for me and my family as well.

This entry was posted in health and wellbeing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

