Hospital (continued)

It’s now two days since my mom came to the hospital. I can’t say admitted because a social worker came by earlier and said she was never admitted but is just under observation. I’m not sure how that’s possible since the emergency room doctor said he was going to admit her, and they’ve been working to re-hydrate her while running a lot of tests, but I will have to talk o the doctor when he comes around.

What we do know at this point is that an increase in Bumex to get the excess fluid off her lungs dehydrated her, but now she’s rehydrated and her kidneys are functioning better. She isn’t hallucinating like she was, but she is still a bit confused, not always knowing where she is or that I’m her daughter. The MRI showed that she has microvascular ischemic changes in her brain and the doctor said he thinks she is developing dementia. After reading up on it last night, it seems like he may be correct.

I’m not sure what will happen next. I only know that I’m tired, and I  can’t bring her home if she still can’t stand or walk. This situation has been a real test of faith, but I am still going to trust that God will help us through it.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

