Home again

Today I brought my mom home from rehab. The social worker wanted to keep her another week but decided to release her sooner because of her confusion and her penchant for being “feisty”. She now has a doctor’s order for a nurse, nurse’s aide, physical therapist, and occupational therapist. The nurse is supposed to come tomorrow to evaluate her.

We got mom settled in rather quickly this afternoon, and I got to give my first insulin shot. (Yea, me!) Fortunately, she is able to stand and walk again, but she’s not walking very well and gets tired easily. I’m not sure what therapy will accomplish considering that she has congestive heart failure, kidney disease, and emphysema, as well as bad knees, but we’ll see. I wasn’t sure they would get her standing or walking on her own again at all, but they have. In my opinion, health care workers are angels in human form. Some of the things they do border on the miraculous!

So besides looking after my mom and running errands all the time (taking her to doctor’s appointments, running to Walgreen’s to pick up her medicine, helping her change and shower), what am I doing with my free time? Well, besides working 45+ hours a week, and trying not to let everyone down where my volunteer work is concerned, I’ve been asking God, “What is your will for my life and when will things start looking up?”

I guess I’ve sort of been feeling sorry for myself when really I shouldn’t. I took on the responsibility of looking after my mom after her heart attack, and my husband is able to watch her during the day since he’s not working outside of the home…not for money yet anyway. I had felt like I overextended myself, and I was looking for a way to draw back a bit; this has certainly given me reason to do so. We’ve learned to live more frugally, living solely on my public educator paycheck. I’m also not freaking out about some stuff like I used to. I guess having an extremely sick relative can help you put things into perspective. Still, I can’t help but think back to better times when we had more money and time at our disposal. I know this is a learning experience and that it will make me a better person, but I still miss the old times.

We’re told in Proverbs 3:5-6 to “Trust in the Lord with all your heart. And lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and he shall direct your paths.” This is much easier said than done, but I’m going to try to do it anyway. Please pray for me and my family as we go through this difficult season in our lives.

This entry was posted in spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

